Laws & Constitution

Denmark is a democracy and a monarchy at the same time. But it is a constitutional monarchy, which means that the Constitutional Act limits the monarch’s power.

The Constitutional Act of Denmark

The Constitutional Act is Denmark’s most essential piece of legislation, and all other laws must comply.
It was enacted in 1849 and has only been amended a few times.

The Danish Constitutional Act divides power into three independent branches to prevent the abuse of power. The Danish Parliament is the legislative power in Denmark, enacting the country’s laws. The Government is the executive power, ensuring that regulations are implemented. And the courts of law are the judicial power, pronouncing judgments in disputes between citizens and between the authorities and citizens.

Click below to read more about the Constitutional Act of Denmark


Click below to find all laws of Denmark

You might also be interested in

Receive the latest news

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get notified about important changes and new articles